Tags

, ,

Well, it’s been a long time since I’ve updated the blog! I’ve got lots of photos to post and a few stories to tell.

But first, my in-a-nutshell update: I’m currently in the United States for an extended visit (6 weeks) with family and friends and having a blast. My contract with the school ended on January 31st and by that evening, I was on my way to the airport. I’ll be returning to Foshan on March 14th…well, 14th-16th, considering the length of the journey and the time zone difference (I like to think I’m traveling into the future). The only downside to the timing of my exit from China is that I missed the entire Spring Festival, which is, as you probably know, a very big deal. At least I got to see the build-up to it.

Fortunately, I was able to land another teaching job in the same city before I left for the US, so when I return to Foshan in a few weeks, I’ll be able to start working almost immediately. My new job will be very similar to my first one. The major differences are that I’ll be in an English training center for children rather than a kindergarten, and instead of teaching English as a skill, I’ll be teaching skills in English. The specific skills are dance, gymnastics, cooking, and music. The center is brand new and everyone I’ve encountered on my two visits so far is very happy and very attractive. With this new job, I’ll get a 100% pay increase (or more) and be able to see my boyfriend Sean more easily because we’ll be living together and taking the same bus to get to work.

I’m excited to go back to Foshan. Besides starting what seems to be a great job, and getting settled in a new home with Sean, I’ll get to experience the same city with a new perspective. Foshan is home now–a home. My orientation has been flipped upside-down: I’m on holiday in the US and I’ll be returning to my daily routine in China. Crazy.

Okay, so photos to follow in the next posts!

