Tags

, , , , ,

Below are the pictures I took with my Superheadz Slim Devil camera of Wutai Shan, Shanxi Province. You can read about it here.

Here are a few photos that I snapped through the window on our way from Pingyao to Wutai Shan. In the third one down, you can see the monk who sat in front of me. In the fourth one, you can see me!

ImageImageImageImage

We took a chairlift to get to the first temple.

ImageImageImage

When we got to the top, this is what it looked like:

Image ImageImage

There was a guy selling pictures with his monkey in costume.

Image

Bird’s eye view of Wutai Shan from the front of the first temple (I wish I could remember the name!).

Image

This is how “Wu Tai Shan” is written in hanzi:

Image

Tibetan prayer flags everywhere! That beautiful lady you see in green is my mom. Further down, I’m the one doing hand stands.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Look at Mom go! I swear I took these photos only a few seconds apart. We were talking…then I blinked and she was half-way up already. She hikes a lot, so…a breeze, right? Well, I don’t hike a lot and I was a little bit intimidated. Anyway, what you’re looking at is the way up to the first level of Nanshan Si (South Mountain Temple), one of our favorites that we visited in Wutai Shan.

ImageImage

Peter takes a break after conquering the steps himself.

Image

A dark hallway. How poetic.

Image

The view from the third or fourth level of Nanshan Si. The guy in blue is my brother again.

ImageImage

The monks were drying their mushrooms in the sun. Apparently, Wutai Shan has lots of ’em.

Image

It’s me and the Cosmos. All of the temples in Wutai Shan were decorated with these flowers. So beautiful. (At first, I thought the white thing in the sky in the first picture was a UFO that I hadn’t noticed and I got really excited. I figured out later that it’s just a photo processing imperfection. Bummer.)

ImageImage

Visiting Nanshan Si was amazing because there seemed to be an endless climb upward to more magnificent views and more spaces. Every time we felt sure we’d reached the highest point, we’d discover another set of steps around the corner. The man is my dad, the woman my mom, of course.

ImageImage

Finally, we reached the top! There was an especially sweet monk up there who insisted that we all take pictures. He even arranged the four of us for a picture on my mom’s camera.

Image

At a different temple, Peter spins the prayer wheels.

Image

Mom is hangin’ out with the monks at the top.

Image

Lots of brass.

Image

That’s it for Wutai Shan!

