Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I was invited to watch someone’s grandmother make tofu from scratch. Unfortunately, I couldn’t make it to the kitchen before they started, but I did make it in time to see them stuff the tofu with ground, spiced pork. And then I got to eat it! I don’t have to tell you that it was delicious. Image

I caught a bit of a junior fashion show in a mall and snapped a picture of this little girl. She had either already gone on or recently come off stage. She looked like all of the other little girls–same age and just as heavily made up–except for one detail: Her eye-shadow was green instead of blue. Image

This is what the school looks like when they burn the leaves in the side yard. I took this picture right outside of the English office. I really wish they would stop!                       Image

My kid Coco recently celebrated her sixth birthday in school. She had broken her arm the day before and was absent from class, but she stopped by anyway to share her cake with her classmates and teachers. She was so bummed out about her arm that she didn’t smile once and was so disengaged with her environment that she might as well not have been there at all. When you looked into her face, it felt like time stood still. The rest of the room, however, was buzzing with activity and the anticipation of a sugar rush. I like this picture because I think it captures that contrast of Coco to her surroundings. Also, notice the toy gun on the table to Coco’s right. It’s a fancy lighter with a laser pointer. Both teachers and kids loved playing with it, pretending to shoot each other down. That’s something you’d never see in the States.                             Image

Take a look at this cake! For five- and six-year-olds! And those are indeed tomatoes on top. For some reason, the Chinese love to put tomatoes on their deserts. Image

Dragon boat festival, which is called Duānwǔ Jié in Mandarin and Tuen Ng in Cantonese, came this year on June 23rd. To celebrate the holiday, it is customary to eat zongzi (粽子), a type of rice dumpling that is stuffed with beans or something else and wrapped in a bamboo leaf.The school gave me a few of these guys to enjoy, which I did wholeheartedly.                         ImageImage

A typical giant KTV (karaoke) bar. Image

I spotted this giant rust pile on the way to a street market near my school. There’s something about the aesthetic of it that really caught my eye. And to be honest, there was a guy in a bright red Speedo walking around behind the piles. I was really trying to catch him on film, but he must’ve seen me pull my camera out and hid.Image

This is a typical Chinese baby stroller. I liked the yellow-yellow-yellow-yellow combination.Image

Finally…

The trees are all in bloom and this is what they look like! Well, some of them at least. Anyway, my toe nails were painted the same color and the synchronicity made me feel super special.Image

