Tags

, ,

One morning last week, the head of the English department announced that one of our classes would be canceled because the kids need to go outside and pick “grass.” Pick weeds. Of course, nobody taught the kids what weeds are or how to pick them, they just said “okay let’s go outside” and let a bunch of 3-8 year-olds free in the courtyard. The kids quickly segregated into two groups: The “I don’t know what the hell we’re doing and I’m tired so I’m just gonna hang out over here and pick my nose” group and the “look how much grass I can rip out of the ground and shove in your face” group. I think it was a success.

Here are some of my favorite photos…

Captain Suki of Group 1. She’s not diggin’ it.

Image

Steven: A proud member of Group 2, weeds in hand.

Image

Jason was the designated trash bag holder.

Image

Here is my attempt to differentiate good grass from bad grass.

Image

It was a pointless attempt, so I decided to give it a rest and get some good photos out of the event.

Image

Tommy Hwang is very proud of this pull.

Image

These girls aren’t in my class, but they’re cute anyway.

Image

